Jazz Club

You, with your
Experimental martini
In your hands
While I pretend
I can finish my sssentence.
I guess it’s safe to say
We’re still friends.
That one guy
In the unbuttoned
Button-up shirt
Is too old for you
Anyway
“But maybe he’ll call,”
While the jazz ensemble
Plays
70s pop instead.
A blue light from the bar
Bounces off red glass rims
As we talk
Lessons in history
And I learn
What you really think of
‘People like me…’
Not that it makes a difference
On weekdays.
Thus, you cover my tab
And the jazz ensemble plays
On.
image

Leave a Reply

