daily prompt tail of two kitties

Daily Prompt: A Tail of Two Kitties

I already divide much of my waking time between Santa Barbara and Ventura, California.
Not that I want to.
I’ve always wanted to work close to home.
Rent’s too high in Santa Barbara.
There aren’t enough work opportunities in the city of Ventura.
They’re both beautiful cities to live in.
Distinct cultures, supposedly.

The other night one of my neighbor’s called together a patio wine meeting (she has an ocean view).
My adorable neighbors were talking about how annoying people are in Santa Barbara.
…Something about ostentatious attitudes…
A whiles into the night, the conversation turns to me and how it is that I speak English so well…
“I’m from Santa Barbara,” I answer.
Heheheh.
It happens quiet often, actually.
I mean, the part about white people assuming I’m from Mexico.
Mexicans also ask me how it is I learned Spanish.
“My parents,” I answer.
More awkward moments.
I mean, awkward for the other people; I’ve personally learned to enjoy their embarrassing questions.

BUT if I had a choice… what two places would I choose?
If I could divide my life in two…
Two lives…
Both authentic…
One as thoroughly sincere as the other-

You know, early mornings in Montecito are always foggy.
You open the curtains and it feels like you’re in the middle of an evergreen fairy tale.
It’s a very unrealistic place to live.

When you live in a Mexican beach town your main concern is whether the tide will be high at sunset.

Tiny corners Time tucked into this busy world to remind us what life is supposed to taste like…

I wish I had traveled more throughout my life; I would be better prepared to answer this question.

I would like to have breakfast in Santorini and dinner in Tuscany.
I would like to work in San Francisco and go watch plays in New York.
I would like to go shopping in Tokyo and hiking in New Zealand.
A tele-transportation device and at least one cat at each location.

Response to WP Daily Prompt: A Tale of Two Cities

About Ave Valencia

My friends say I'm an artist. My cats think I'm the greatest thing since smoked salmon. My family- well let's just leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

