Daily Prompt: Worst Case Scenario- Take 2

I read this in the morning and thought about it and now that the day is through, my answer would differ.

In the morning I thought the best thing that could happen to me would be to run into an old friend.
The worst would be to find out someone I care about was in a fatal accident.

This takes me back to January 25th of this year.
It started as one of the best days of my life.
One of my Bible students got baptized that day.
Our baptisms are rather simple.
Hundreds of us gather to hear different talks on Bible topics and then at noon, they bring the candidates to a pool outside and submerge them in water.
That day, my Bible student was the only female getting baptized.
It was a great blessing to have had the honor of helping her.

That same evening, my uncle got hit by a car while he was walking home from work.
He died on impact.

Granted, I didn’t find out until the next day-

<long pause>

He was a painter and a guitarist. My dad’s younger brother.
I guess we had a lot in common with him.
Just one of those people who cannot be anything other than poetic.

<long pause>

Now that the day is done, I think the best thing that could have happened today would have been for me to have gotten sucked into another dimension.
A dimension of peace.
Fast forwarded through this world and all its vices, violence, harassment, illnesses, accidents, poverty, debt, envy and all, into a world where the delicate balance between man and nature has been restored.
The worst thing that could have happened to me would have been to have run into an old friend.
Or to have hypothetically yelled at them over the phone.

…I probably don’t belong in that peace dimension quite yet.

I’m just tired of feeling used.
But really, upon further reflection, nothing hurts more than losing someone you care about, except failing someone you love.
Like God, for instance. Or your own self.

Is my one month of prompts almost over?
I’m beginning to considerably dislike this.

Whoops! I forgot the pingback 🙂 WP blablahblah click here

About Ave Valencia

My friends say I'm an artist. My cats think I'm the greatest thing since smoked salmon. My family- well let's just leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

