2 Headed Beast flash fiction header

The Horrific Tale of the 2-Headed Beast

Mel sat up on the bed, unconsciously awakened by the ticktock of her own soul.
It was 2AM.
She had told her husband she’d be home by 11.
She looked at her cell phone and saw she had 37 missed calls.

Her eyes fell on Jess’s face.
He seemed to be sleeping.
She crawled from under the covers and put her heels on.

“Clack… Clack… Clack…” they sounded on the tile floor.

“Where are you going?”

“Jess, you said you had turned the volume up on my phone! Do you know how late it is?”

Too late?”

Mel reached for the doorknob and without looking back mumbled,”I’ll see you on Monday.”

“Wait! I need to ask you for a favor.”

“What is it?”

“My sister gave me these two Siamese kittens. They’re in the garage. Can you keep them until she comes back from Australia?”

“Why did she give them to you if she knows you’re allergic?”

“I told her I have a really sweet friend who loves cats.”

Oh. So they were friends.

“OK, but hurry. I’ve gotta go!”

They went into the garage and to Mel’s surprise, she found the kittens were actually Siamese twins, joined at the shoulder.
They looked like an adorable 2-headed beast.

“I really don’t think I’m gonna get away with this,” she said putting the kittens into her Coach purse as she darted out the door.

“Well you can always come back here,” Jess said, but between the meowing, the wind and the engine starting, his words got lost in the night.

About Ave Valencia

My friends say I'm an artist. My cats think I'm the greatest thing since smoked salmon. My family- well let's just leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

